2019 Annual Conference

Things to do in San Antonio, TX



If you like history. . .

 

1.    The Alamo à  https://www.thealamo.org/

2.    The 5 Missions à http://www.lsjunction.com/facts/missions.htm

3.    The Witte Museum à https://www.wittemuseum.org/

If you like adventure . . . 


1.    Ghost Tours à https://ghostcitytours.com/

2.    Hike in Government Canyon State Natural Area (dinosaur tracks!) à https://tpwd.texas.gov/state-parks/government-canyon

3.    Escape Rooms à https://breakoutgames.com/escape-rooms/

If you like gardens/horticulture . . .

1.    Japanese Tea Gardens à https://goldengatepark.com/japanese-tea-garden.html

2.    San Antonio Botanical Gardens à https://www.sabot.org/

3.    River Walk à https://www.thesanantonioriverwalk.com/

4.    William R Sinkin Eco Centro à https://www.alamo.edu/sac/SinkinEcoCentro/


If you’re traveling with kids . . .

1.    The DoSeum à https://www.thedoseum.org/

2.    Yanaguana Gardens à https://hemisfair.org/about/vision/yanaguana-garden/

3.    Six Flags Fiesta Texas à https://www.sixflags.com/fiestatexas

4.    San Antonio Zoo and Aquarium à https://sazoo.org/

5.    Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch à https://www.wildliferanchtexas.com/

6.    Natural Bridge Caverns à https://naturalbridgecaverns.com/

If you like art . . .


1.    ArtPace à https://www.artpace.org/

2.    Museum Reach à https://www.thesanantonioriverwalk.com/explore/museum-reach

3.    La Villita Historic Arts Village https://www.thesanantonioriverwalk.com/directory/la-villita-historic-arts-village1

4.    San Antonio Museum of Art à https://www.samuseum.org/

5.    McNay Art Museum à https://www.mcnayart.org/

6.    Briscoe Western Art Museum à https://www.briscoemuseum.org/

If you like exploring Texas culture or historic architecture . . .


1.    Market Square à https://www.thesanantonioriverwalk.com/directory/market-square

2.    Institute of Texan Cultures à http://www.texancultures.com/travelingtrunks-2/

3.    King William District (Victorian houses) à https://riverwalkguide.com/king-william-historic-district/

4.    Majestic Theatre à http://www.majesticempire.com/

If you like just hanging out . . .


  1. The Pearl Brewery District à http://atpearl.com/
  2. Buckhorn Saloon à http://www.buckhornmuseum.com/
  3. Hemisfair Park and the Tower of the Americas à https://hemisfair.org/destinations/tower-of-the-americas/
  4. As for restaurants in the immediate area of the Westin River Walk, the hotel itself has a restaurant called Zocca Cuisine D'Italia. Other restaurants in the immediate area are Biga on the Banks (expensive, but awesome), Zinc Bistro and Bar, Sushi Zushi, Paesanos (mainly Italian), and Landry’s (seafood), as well as the Fig Tree Restaurant and the Little Rhein Steakhouse. Dick’s Last Resort is fun place, but known more for its entertainment than food.  Our local source would also recommend Acenar and Market on Houston, though they are a little more of a walk from the hotel.

If you like saving money…


 San Antonio offers conference attendees savings through their Show Us Your Badge program, in which convention attendees can receive discounts and special offers at over 50 restaurants and nightlife establishments in downtown San Antonio simply by showing their conference badge.  Here is a link to participating venues.



©2019 Association for Communication Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Life and Human Sciences
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software